Holidays

FY 2022-23 Holiday Schedule

Independence Day – Monday, July 4, 2022
Labor Day – Monday, September 5, 2022
Thanksgiving Day – Thursday, November 24, 2022
Day after Thanksgiving – Friday, November 25, 2022
Christmas Eve – Friday, December 23, 2022
Christmas Day – Monday, December 26, 2022
Holiday Break Day – Tuesday, December 27, 2022
Holiday Break Day – Wednesday, December 28, 2022
Holiday Break Day – Thursday, December 29, 2022
New Year’s Eve – Friday, December 30, 2022
New Year’s Day – Monday, January 2, 2023
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – Monday, January 16, 2023
Memorial Day – Monday, May 29, 2023

Policy and Procedures

Benefit-eligible employees who are regularly scheduled to work at least 1,040 hours per year are eligible for paid holidays that fall on their regularly scheduled work days. Employees not normally scheduled to work during the week in which a holiday falls are not eligible for pay for that holiday. For example, an employee with an 11-month appointment who is not scheduled to work during the month of July does not receive pay for the Independence Day holiday.

To qualify for holiday pay, an employee must either work or be eligible for paid time off for his/her last regularly scheduled work day prior to the holiday and the next regularly scheduled work day following the holiday. This policy applies to the regular work schedule of all staff employees who are eligible for holiday pay. Holidays that fall within a scheduled vacation do not count against vacation.