Lux Esto Award

In 2008, as part of the celebration of the 175th anniversary of the College’s founding, the Community Council created the Community Awards Program and recommended that our Founders Day celebration include recognition of the faculty and staff, who like our founders make Kalamazoo College an exceptional place. As part of the Community Awards Program the Lux Esto Award was created. This award is presented each year at Founders Day to a staff or faculty member who has served the College for 26 years or more and has contributed significantly to the campus.

We are currently soliciting nominations for this year’s award. The criteria for the award are as follows:

  • Significant contribution to the College
  • Dedication to the campus community and the mission
  • Promotes goodwill on campus
  • Current faculty or staff who have served the College for 26 years or more.

The recipient will be selected by a committee that includes a representative from the faculty, staff, and students. The Committee will make a recommendation to President Gonzalez and he will announce the award at the Founders Day Convocation on April 22, 2022. A list of the individuals who are eligible is below. I hope you will take the time to nominate a deserving individual.

Nominations must be submitted by Monday, March 28. The letter should be at least two paragraphs long and should address each of the criteria. Nominations may be sent using the form below or sent to: Lux Esto Award Selection Committee, c/o The President’s Office

Please mark your calendars for the Founders Day Celebration on Friday, April 22, 2022 at 11:00 in Stetson Chapel to see who receives the award.

Please direct questions to Melanie Williams at

The nomination period has closed. Nominations for next year will begin in spring 2023.

Eligible Nominees – 2022 Lux Esto Award

AppsHannahProfessor of Economics
AskewTomProfessor of Physics
BradyAlyceProfessor of Computer Science
BrooksStephanieCustodial Coordinator, Facilities Management
CooperRussellComputer Technician, IS
DugasJohnAssociate Professor of Political Science
ElmanAmyProfessor of Political Science
EvansTomProfessor of Music
GreggGaryProfessor of Psychology
LatiolaisChrisAssociate Professor of Philosophy
MassuraTomInstrument Technician, Physics
MillsBruceProfessor of English
RiceTomStewart Professor of Art
SchneiderKellyAssociate Director of Financial Aid
SolbergJanVisiting Professor of French
StackBruceElectrician, Facilities Management
TobochnikJanDow Distinguished Professor of Physics
ValleEnidProfessor of Spanish

Previous Lux Esto Award Recipients

2008 Tom Ponto

2009 Rob Townsend

2010 Gail Griffin

2011 Paul Manstrom

2012 Zaide Pixley

2013 Paul Sotherland

2014 Jeanne Hess

2015 Pat Ponto

2016 David Barclay

2017 Greg Brown

2018 Ed Menta

2019 Don Mack

2020 Kim Aldrich

2021 Kiran Cunningham